The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is a self-ruling government and unincorporated US teritory. The government is headed by an elected governor. The governor handles all the internal matters of the republic and the US president handles all matters relating to external affairs. The president of the US is also the chief of state. The US president takes care of issues concerning foreign relations, customs, immigration, declarations of war, constitutional law, highway, military, airspace, currency, citizenship among others. Citizens of Puerto Rico are also citizens of the United States.

Elections in Puerto Rico are organized by the Puerto Rican State of Elections Commission. They are held on the first Tuesday of the month of November after four years. Voters elect the governor, the members of the legislative assembly, senators, house of representatives members, the resident commissioner, municipal assemblies, and mayors. Anyone who is over the years of 18 is eligible to vote. There is no set term limit for the governor’s seat.

The bicameral parliament building of Puerto Rico is located in the Islet of San Juan just outside the wall of San Juan. The Capitolio de Puerto Rico, as it is called in Spanish, was built in between the years of 1925 and 1929, and has a Neoclassical Revival style. It was designed by architect Rafael Carmoega, and features a dome at the center which was later built in 1961. The interior design of the building was done by several Puerto Rican designers. The official residence of the governor, the La Fortaleza (The Fortress) is also located in San Juan.

Puerto Rico possesses a "first past the post" system, which means that a voter is able to vote by party, by candidate, or even by both. Major political parties in Puerto Rico include the New Progressive party, the Popular Democratic Party, the Working People's Party, and the Puerto Rican Independence Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps