Where is Puerto Rico?

Located in the Caribbean, Puerto Rico is an island nation. It has a 501.00 km coastline. Increasing numbers of illegal migrants cross over from the Dominican Republic using the Mona Passage.

The capital city of San Juan was founded in 1521. It is located on the northern coast of Puerto Rico. San Juan has deep natural harbors which make it the busiest seaport in the Caribbean. San Juan is among the oldest cities in the Americas. San Juan is the biggest city in Puerto Rico by population - its metropolitan area has a population of 2,350,126. San Juan has a lot of tourist attractions ranging from old forts, beautiful beaches, great surfing spots, and the third largest cave system in the world. San Juan experiences a tropical climate.

Read more on Puerto Rico's Capital

Puerto Rico is a North American country covering 13,791.00 km2 of which 35.68% is water and 8,870.00 km2 is land. and slightly less than three times the size of Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 18 15 N, 66 30 W and San Juan is the capital city.

The name Puerto Rico comes from the phrase Rich Port City.

Its ISO code is PR.


Puerto Rico has a mean elevation of 261 m above sea level.

It has an arid climate with mild winters and extremely hot summers. Its terrain is mostly mountainous in the north and west, with sandy beaches along the coast.


Puerto Rico has a population of 3,578,056 making it the 132nd largest in the world. The majority of the population tends to be clustered on the coast.

Spanish and English are both official languages. The majority ethnic grup is white, followed by black/African American. The majority of the country is Roman Catholic.

Spanish and English are the official Puerto Rican languages. The latter is a North Sea Germanic language while Spanish is a Romance language. Both languages were made official in 1993 following a bill signed by Governor Pedro Rossello. The Spanish alphabet is made up of 27 letters with the English having 26 letters. Approximately 95% of the entire Puerto Rican population uses Spanish, and only 20% are proficient in English. Puerto Rican Spanish has borrowed elements from English phrases, Taino words, and African dialects. Taino was the only indigenous language in Puerto Rico, but was pronounced extinct in the 19th century. Other languages found in the country are German, Chinese, French, Hindi, Italian and Haitian Creole.

Read more on Puerto Rico's Languages

The dialing code for the country is +1-787 and 1-939.


It is a territory of the United States with commonwealth status. Its constitution was last ratified in 1952.

Puerto Rico has a self-governing government headed by a governor. The United States has jurisdiction over the government. The governor handles internal affairs of the country while the president of the United States handles all external affairs. The official residence of the governor is in San Juan. Puerto Rican elections are held after every four years and there is no limit as too how many terms one can serve.

Read more on Puerto Rico's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Puerto Rico's GDP is $131,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $37,700.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 79th largest economy and its citizens the 45th richest in the world. The currency of Puerto Rico is the Dollar (USD).

Its major imports include chemicals, machinery and equipment, and clothing.


The Puerto Rican flag can be traced to 1868 and has changed several times over the years. The first official design of the flag was made by the independence leader Ramon Emeterio. The current flag has three colors and an isosceles triangle on the hoist side pointing to the fly side of the flag. Inside the triangle, there is a five-pointed star. The flag design is similar to that of Dominican Republic because the two flags were designed around the same time.

Read more on Puerto Rico's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps