The flag of The Philippines has three main colors. They are red, white, and blue. The Philippine flag also features a 4th color, gold. The hoist side of the flag contains a white triangle with a gold/yellow sun with eight rays. There are three gold stars, one for each corner of the triangle. To the right of the triangle are two horizontal bands on top of each other. The blue band is on top of the red band.

The name of the flag is Pambansang Watawat. This means "National Flag" in Tagalog. This flag was first designed by Filipino revolutionary Emilio Aguinaldo. June 12, 1898 is the date that the flag of the First Philippine Republic was adopted. The current version was adopted in 1998.

The sun represents the unity, freedom, and democracy. The eight rays of the sun represen eight main provinces with a high amount of involvement with the Philippine Revolution. These provinces are: Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Pampanga, Bataan, Laguna, Batangas, and Nueva Ecija. The three stars represent the islands of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindinao. These are the main islands where the Philippine Revolution started. The white triangle on the hoist side represents equality, brotherhood, and freedom. The blue band on the top represents peace, truth, and justice. The red band of the flag represents patriotism and courage.

During the Philippine Revolution, there were several flags used. The evolution of The Philippines' flag has been connected to the revolutionary flags during the Philippine Revolution for independence from Spain.

The first version of the current flag was designed by Filipino revolutionary Emilio Aguinaldo. Aguinaldo came up with the design in 1897, while under exile in Hong Kong. During his exile, Aguinaldo regrouped and reorganized his revolutionary government. When he returned to The Philippines, he would command his revolutionary forces in the battle for independence. He would hoist the flag of the First Philippine Republic after the Battle of Alapan. It was Emilio Aguinaldo's first military victory post-exile. The flag was hoisted in what is now Cavite City. Flag Day is celebrated on May 28 annually to commemorate the battle.

The first official Filipino flag was made in 1897. This was a red flag that featured a white sun. The sun on this flag resembles the current sun on the Filipino flag. The 1897 version featured a face on the sun. This is the Sun Of May. In 1898, Emilio Aguinaldo flew the flag of the First Philippine Republic. This version of the Filipino flag is similar to what the current version features today. There is a difference. The inscription "Fuerzas Expedicionarias del Norte de Luzon" is on the front side of the flag. The inscription is Spanish for "Expeditionary Forces of Northern Luzon". That version was adopted in 1898.

The shade of blue used in future versions of the Filipino flag have varied. The inscription would no longer be used on the flag after 1919. Navy blue would be used as one of the flags colors in 1919, derived from the American flag. The colors of the Filipino flag would be made official in 1936, with navy blue being made an official color along with red gold, and white. The triangle would be equilateral. After independence in 1946, the Filipino flag would maintain navy blue as part of its flag, until 1985. Light blue would be used instead of navy blue. After dictator Ferdinand Marcos was ousted in 1986, Corazon Aquino would become President of The Philippines. The navy blue version of the flag would be restored. In 1998, royal blue would be used instead of navy blue. This remains the current flag of The Philippines.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps