There are two official languages in Norfolk Island, and they are English and Norfuk. English is a universal language due to the past influence of the United Kingdom and Australia, who have both administered the country. In 2007, Norfuk was added to the list of endangered languages by the United Nations. Norfuk is a blend of 18th-century English and Tahitian and is also known as an English Creole. This unique language is a blend of 18th-century English and Tahitian, introduced to Norfolk Island by Pitkern-speaking settlers from the neighbouring Pitcairn Island.

The population of Norfolk Island is just 1,748 according to the 2016 national census. Approximately 400 people in the nation speak the Norfuk language natively which equates to around one-quarter of the population. The remaining population speaks English natively as the majority of citizens are from Australia or New Zealand. In official use of the Norfuk language, such as governmental or commercial activity, the language must be accompanied by a full English translation. Around 75% of citizens can speak both languages fluently.

"Whut-ta-wa-ye?", is a common phrase in Norfolk Island that means "how are you?" Although many residents of Norfolk Island speak excellent English, these types of phrases are often interwoven in everyday communication. Many of the tourist attractions on the island have also been renamed and given Norfuk names.

Minority languages in the nation are few due to the fact the area had been deserted for an extended period by the original settlers, the East Polynesians. Today, many of the population with Polynesian ancestry in Norfolk Island also have a European history in their family. Minority languages in the nation can include Tahitian and Pitkern, but due to the minuscule population, English remains the most prevalent language.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps