Where is Nigeria?

Located in Western Africa, Nigeria has a 4,477.00 km border with Benin (809 km), Cameroon (1,975 km), Chad (85 km) and Niger (1,608 km). It has a 853.00 km coastline. The Joint Border Commission with Cameroon reviewed the 2002 ICJ ruling on their boundaries.

Nigeria is an African country covering 923,768.00 km2 of which 1.41% is water and 910,768.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 31st largest country in the world and about six times the size of Georgia slightly more than twice the size of California. Its geographic coordinates are 10 00 N, 8 00 E and Abuja is the capital city.

The name Nigeria comes from the Niger River.

Its ISO code is NG.


Nigeria has a mean elevation of 380 m above sea level.

It has a varied climate from equatorial in the south, tropical in the center, and arid in the north. its terrain is mostly made of southern lowlands, central hills, plateaus, plains, and mountains.


Nigeria has a population of 186,053,386 making it the 7th largest in the world.

English is the official language; over 500 indigenous languages are also spoken. The major ethnic groups reported are Hausa, Fulani, and Yoruba. The country is split almost evenly between Christians and Muslims.

The dialing code for the country is 234.


Nigeria is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1960. Its constitution was last ratified in 1999.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Nigeria's GDP is $1,090,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $5,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 23rd largest economy and its citizens the 157th richest in the world. The currency of Nigeria is the Naira (NGN).

Its major export partners are India, the Netherlands, and Spain. Its main exports are petroleum, cocoa, and rubber. Its major import partners are China, the United States, and the Netherlands. Its major imports include machinery, chemicals, transport equipment, and manufactured goods.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018