Where is Niger?

Located in Western Africa, Niger has a 5,834.00 km border with Algeria (951 km), Benin (277 km), Burkina Faso (622 km), Chad (1,196 km), Libya (342 km), Mali (838 km) and Nigeria (1,608 km). Libya claims about 25,000 sq km in a currently dormant dispute in the Tommo region of Niger.

The capital city of Niger is Niamey. The city lies on the east banks of Niger River. It is the cultural, political, and economic center of Niger. The French established the city in 1926. When the country gained independence, it remained as the capital city. The city has a population of 1,302,910 people.

Read more on Niger's Capital

Niger is an African country covering 1,267,000.00 km2 of which 0.02% is water and 1,266,700.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 21st largest country in the world and slightly less than twice the size of Texas. Its geographic coordinates are 16 00 N, 8 00 E and Niamey is the capital city.

Niger is named for the Niger River that passes through it.

Its ISO code is NE.


Niger has a mean elevation of 474 m above sea level.

It has a desert climate that is hot, dry, and tropical in the south. Its terrain mostly consists of desert plains and sand dunes, with flat, rolling plains in the south and hills in the north.


Niger has a population of 18,638,600 making it the 60th largest in the world. The majority of the country can be found in the southernmost extreme of the country.

French is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are Hausa, Zarma, and Tuareg. The majority of the country identifies as Muslim.

The official language in Niger is French, a language that was inherited from the French who colonized the country. The language is spoken by few people mostly in the urban areas. Other languages spoken in Niger are Fulfulde, Tamasheq, Arabic, Kanuri, Buduma, Zama and Songhai Gourmanchema, and Hausa. Most of the Nigeriens speak Hausa one of the local languages. The language is spoken by over 50% of the population. Other languages are Zama-Songhai, Tuareg, Fulani, and Kanuri among others.

Read more on Niger's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 227.


Niger is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1960. Its constitution was last ratified in 2010.

Niger is a country in West Africa. The government in the country is a semi-presidential Republic. The head of state is the president while the prime minister heads the government. The government is divided into the executive, legislature, and judiciary branches. The president and the prime minister hold executive powers, the National Assembly is the legislative branch and courts make up the judiciary. The current constitution was adopted in 2010 and it established the seventh republic.

Read more on Niger's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Niger's GDP is $20,150,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,100.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 145th largest economy and its citizens the 214th richest in the world. The currency of Niger is the Franc (XOF).

Its major export partners are France, Nigeria, and China. Its main exports are uranium ore, livestock, cowpeas, and onions. Its major import partners are France, China, and Nigeria. Its major imports include foodstuffs, machinery, vehicles and parts, and petroleum.


The flag of Niger was adopted on November 23, 1959, and it has three bands of orange on the top, white on the middle with a circular orange, and green on the bottom. The traditional ratio of the flag is 6:7. This ratio is not used consistently and widely and the common ratios used are 2:3, 3:5, and 1:2. The top orange color represents the northern regions of the Sahara desert while the middle white band represents the innocence and purity of Niger's citizens. The bottom green color represents the western and southern part of Niger which is fertile and suitable for agriculture while the orange circle in the middle of the flag represents the sun which illuminates on all parts of the country. It also symbolizes the sacrifices made by Niger citizens during the struggle for independence.

Read more on Niger's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps