The Republic of Nicaragua is a constitutional democracy whose president is both the head of state as well as the head of government. The government, which is made up of the president, the vice president, and the cabinet, holds the executive powers. The legislative powers rest on a unicameral National Assembly with its 92 deputies. The president appoints the members of the cabinet who are then confirmed by the National Assembly. The cudiciary is independent of both the executive and the legislative branches of government.

The people of Nicaragua elect both the president and the vice president. They are placed on the one ballot and are then selected through a simple majority. They serve for five years with no term limits. 90 of the 92 deputies of the National Assembly are elected through proportional representation from party lists.

he country’s political parties come up with a list of candidates for the positions available in each district, and then the people vote for their preferred party. The number of seats a party gets in each constituency is proportional to the share of votes that they get. The remaining two seats go to the immediate former president and the runner-up in the last presidential election. The deputies serve for five-year terms

The seat of parliament is in Managua, the capital city of Nicaragua. Nicaragua’s official presidential residence used to be the Casa Presidencial, which was funded by the Taiwanese government. It was used as such from 1999 up to 2007 by the presidents at the time. The current president, however, refused to move in citing the high maintenance costs as his primary reason. He currently lives and works from the General Secretariat of the Sandinista National Liberation Front.

This page was last modified on November 22nd, 2017