The Republic of Nicaragua adopted its flag in 1908. The flag was later officially adopted in 1971. The flag is rectangular with three stripes of the color white and blue. The top and bottom stripes are blue. The white color is centrally located on the flag with a triangular coat of arms. The triangular coat of arms is in the middle of the white stripe. Inside the coat of arms, there are five volcanoes, a rainbow, white rays and a red Phrygian cap. Nicaragua’s flag is based on the model of the former United States of South America.

The blue stripe represents the blue water of the sea (the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean). The white color on the middle stripe stands for peace. The triangular coat of arms represents equality. The five volcanoes in the triangle represent former states of the United States of South America. The red cap stands for freedom. The rainbow and the white sun rays represent the bright future of Nicaragua.

Nicaragua’s flag was redesigned from the original flag of the five provinces that formed the United States of South America. It is from that flag that Nicaragua redesigned it adding their coat of arms. Nicaragua’s flag is the only flag which has a violet color of the rainbow. All the other states have the colors of the dissolved Federation flag. Colors used in the flag for all former states are similar.

The first flag that Nicaragua used after becoming an independent state was comprised of a blue and white color. This particular flag’s use came to an end in 1854. The next flag had three colors: yellow, white and scarlet. The second flag use was also short-lived after the country was plunged into a civil war. During the civil war, several flags were made and replaced. In 1908 the current flag was adopted.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps