The Republic of Mozambique has a democratic government. Power is divided between the three arms of government of the judiciary, executive, and legislature. The president is head of government and chief of state. The president appoints the prime minister and the cabinet. The work of the prime minister is to chair the cabinet whose work is to advise the president. The judiciary in Mozambique works independently from any interference from the other two arms.

Elections in Mozambique are held after every five years through a secret ballot. The president is elected for a five-year term and can only serve for two terms of five years each. To win the presidential elections, one must get the majority of votes in the first round. In case no candidate gets the majority of the votes, a runoff will be held between two candidates who got the most votes. The 250 members of the assembly are elected after every five years. Citizens aged 18 years and above are eligible to vote in the general elections.

The Mozambique parliament building is situated in Maputo. The Chinese government funded the construction of the building at the cost of $6 million. It has a capacity of 250 seats.

The 1990 constitution paved the way for a multiparty system in Mozambique. From 1990 there have been many political parties in the country but has been dominated by two parties of the Liberation Front of Mozambique or the Mozambican Liberation Front (FRELIMO) and Mozambican National Resistance (RENAMO-UE). The latter party is a coalition of several parties. The ruling party has formed the government since independence. Apart from the two dominant parties, smaller parties include the Liberal Democratic Party of Mozambique, the National Reconciliation Party, the Social Liberal and Democratic Party, the Party of Freedom and Solidarity, the Mozambique Social Broadening Party, and the Liberal Democratic Party of Mozambique.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps