Moldova is a parliamentary representative democratic republic where leaders are elected to represent citizens in the parliament. The republic exercises a multi-party democracy. Each party focuses on acquiring the highest number of seats in the parliament. The prime minister is head of the government whereas the president is head of state. The legislative powers are exercised by the parliament whereas the executive powers are exercised by the government. The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

The Moldovan parliament consists of 101 members who are elected after every 4 years. Previously, the president was elected for a four-year term by a constitutional majority of 60 of the 101 members of parliament. However, this was changed through a constitutional Courts’ ruling on March 4, 2016. The Constitutional Court Ruling reverted the presidential election method to a two-round system direct election. This implies that the citizens elect the candidate of their choice to serve as the president, rather than elected members of parliament electing the president. The elections are usually moderated by both international and local observers. The elected president is limited to holding the office for two terms of four years each.

The Parliament of the Republic is a unicameral parliament that hosts the proceedings and sessions of the parliament. The parliament building is located on the Stephen, the Great Boulevard, which was formerly referred to as Lenin Boulevard. The parliament building was formerly the meeting place of the Central Committee of the Moldovan Branch of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. The president palace was designed by two architects named Zaltman and Iavorski. It was built from 1984 to 1987 and is located in Buiucani sector of Chișinău. The presidential palace was originally a meeting place of the Supreme Soviet of the Moldavian SSR.

Moldova has a multiparty system. Active political parties include the Democratic party of Moldova, the Party of Socialists of the Republic of Moldova, the Liberal Party, and the European People's Party of Moldova.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps