The government of Micronesia, or the Federated States of Micronesia, operates as a federated parliamentary republic under a non-partisan democracy. Although this group of islands is both independent and sovereign Micronesia is also an associated state of the U.S. Micronesia gained its political independence on November 3, 1986 in accordance with the Compact of Free Association. Executive power is afforded to the President, who is also the official head of state, along with the members of his or her cabinet. Legislative power is the responsibility of both the Congress and the President.

In accordance with its 1979 constitution the Federated States of Micronesia is governed by a fourteen member Congress made up of senators elected by popular vote. Four senators, one from each state, may serve for a term of four years. The remaining ten senators are each elected to represent single member districts and serve for a period of two years. It is the responsibility of the Congress to elect both the President and Vice President. Both of these government representatives serve terms of four years.

Members of the government conduct the region’s administrative business in the National Capital Complex located in Palikir, Micronesia’s capital city. This nine building two cluster complex occupies an area of 135 acres. The country’s National Congress meets in the four building northern cluster. Because the Federated States of Micronesia is composed of four states each district has their own governor and capital. The state of Chuuk, with Weno as its capital, is currently governed by Johnson Elimo. The island of Kosrae is presently represented by Governor Lyndon Jackson with Tofol as its capital. Pohnpei and its capital city of Kolonia are currently represented by John Ehsa. The capital of the island of Yap is Colonia which is presently represented by Governor Tony Ganangyan.

There are no official political parties in Micronesia. Individual candidates base their campaigns on specific issues which pertain to a variety of family or island affairs.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps