Where is Micronesia?

Located in Oceania, Micronesia is an island nation. It has a 6,112.00 km coastline.

Micronesia is an Oceanian country covering 702.00 km2. The area includes Pohnpei (Ponape), Chuuk (Truk) Islands, Yap Islands, and Kosrae (Kosaie). This makes it the 20th smallest country in the world and about 18 times smaller than Connecticut. Its geographic coordinates are 6 55 N, 158 15 E and Palikir is the capital city.

The name "Micronesia" is a 19th century construct of two Greek words meaning small and islands.

Its ISO code is FM.


Micronesia has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate with heavy rainfall year-round. Its terrain varies from high mountains to low, coral atolls.


Micronesia has a population of 104,719 making it the 192nd largest in the world.

English is the official and most commonly spoken language. The major ethnic groups reported are Chuukese, Pohnpeian, and Kosraean. The majority of the population is either Roman Catholic or Protestant.

The dialing code for the country is 691.


Micronesia is an independent country. It gained independence from US-administered UN trusteeship. Its constitution was last ratified in 1978.


The currency of Micronesia is the Dollar (USD).

Its major imports include food, beverages, clothing, and computers.

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018