The United States of Mexico has a presidential and a federal type of government with the head of state being the president. The president is also the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. Power in the government of Mexico is divided into three arms of government: the judiciary, executive, and legislature. The government is further divided into 31 free states, each headed by a governor. The states are free and have their own three arms of the government which act independently. The current constitution was established in 1917 and has been amended several times.

The presidential general elections in Mexico are held after every six years. The president is elected for one term of 6 years only. To win the presidential seat, one has to get the majority of the total votes cast. The Congress is made up of two chambers: the chamber of senators (200) and the deputies (300). The latter are elected at the constituency level while the 200 senators are elected by proportional representation. To vie for the presidential seat one must be at least 35 years old, while for the senator’s seat it is 25 and Congressional deputy it is 21.

The Mexican Congress is located in Mexico City. The building is located a mile east of Zocalo central square in Venustiano Carranza district. Saint Lazarus Legislative palace (parliament of Mexico) was built in the 20th century. The official residence of the president of Mexico is Los Pinos. It is located in Bosque de Chapultepec in central Mexico City. The building is made of Neoclassical French Eclectic style.

The parties which dominate the Mexican political scene are the National Action Party, PAN), the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI), and the Party of the Democratic Revolution (PRD). The parties are characterized by center-right, center-left, and centrist policies, respectively.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps