The Republic of Mauritius has a parliamentary democracy system of government. The Legislature elects the president, and once in office, the president appoints the prime minister who presides over the cabinet. Power is divided among the three arms of government of judiciary, executive, and legislature. The judiciary is independent while the executive comprises of the cabinet and the prime minister. The national assembly is made up of 70 members of parliament

The general elections in Mauritius are held after every five years. The legislature elects the president for a term of five years renewable indefinitely. Among the members of parliament 62 of them are elected during the general election, and the remaining eight are appointed. The eight members of the national assembly are also known as the best loser. They are appointed to represent the minority ethnic and religious groups in the country. Their role is to represent the minority groups in the assembly. On the other hand, the prime minister is appointed and can serve for as long as they have the support of the majority in parliament.

The parliament building of Mauritius is in Port Louis, Mauritius. The building has undergone some renovations after many years. It is among the oldest buildings in Mauritius. Construction of the building started in 1729 and ended in 1735 during the reign of Governor Nicolas de Maupin. The building features an elegant design.

Mauritius is a multiparty state and several parties are active in the politics of the country. The political parties in the country include the Parti Mauricien Social Démocrate, Labour Party, Mouvement Socialiste Militant, the Four Cats, Mouvement Authentique Mauricien, Muvman Liberater, and Mouvement Militant Mauricien among others. The elections in Mauritius are very competitive because of the many parties in the country. The competitive environment has led to the formation of alliances. Currently, the active coalition is Alliance Lepep.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps