Where is Mauritius?

Located in Southern Africa, Mauritius is an island nation. It has a 177.00 km coastline. Mauritius and Seychelles both claim the Chagos Islands.

Mauritius is an African country covering 2,040.00 km2 of which 0.49% is water and 2,030.00 km2 is land. The area includes Agalega Islands, Cargados Carajos Shoals (Saint Brandon), and Rodrigues. This makes it the 26th smallest country in the world and almost 6 times smaller than Connecticut. Its geographic coordinates are 20 17 S, 57 33 E and Port Louis is the capital city.

The name Mauritius comes from Prince Maurice Van Nassau.

Its ISO code is MU.


Mauritius has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is modified by southeast trade winds. Its terrain is mostly coastal plains with some mountains encircling the central plateau.


Mauritius has a population of 1,348,242 making it the 155th largest in the world.

Creole is the most widely spoken language. The major ethnic groups reported are Indo-Mauritian, Creole, Sino-Mauritian and Franco-Mauritian. The majority of the population is Hindu, Roman Catholic, or Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 230.


Mauritius is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1968. Its constitution was last ratified in 1968.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Mauritius's GDP is $25,850,000,000.00 (USD) with $20,500.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 137th largest economy and its citizens the 80th richest in the world. The currency of Mauritius is the Rupee (MUR).

Its major export partners are the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, and France. Its main exports are clothing and textiles, sugar, cut flowers, and molasses. Its major import partners are India, China, and France. Its major imports include manufactured goods, capital equipment, and foodstuffs.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017