Where is Marshall Islands?

Located in Oceania, Marshall Islands is an island nation. It has a 370.00 km coastline. The Marshall Islands claim US territory of Wake Island.

The capital and largest city in the Marshall Islands is Majuro. Comprised of 64 small islands this coral atoll is home to the Delap-Uliga-Djarrit area where the majority of its residents live. With a population of about 27,797 a large portion of Majuro’s citizens make their living in various jobs within the service industry. The city is also home to a sea port as well as an airport which hosts travelers from around the world. Majuro is a popular spot for tourists due to its tropical climate, sunny skies, and natural beauty. Diving is an especially sought after activity with eager divers exploring locations such as the Arno Atoll and its three enclosed lagoons. Visitors can also take in the Alele Museum and Public Library which features information on local traditions and folk art. Temperatures in Majuro are consistent year round and average approximately 77-86F.

Read more on Marshall Islands's Capital

Marshall Islands is an Oceanian country covering 181.00 km2. The group of islands has 11,673 sq km of lagoon waters and encompasses the atolls of Bikini, Enewetak, Kwajalein, Majuro, Rongelap, and Utirik. This makes it the 7th smallest country in the world and about 15 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 9 00 N, 168 00 E and Majuro is the capital city.

The islands were named for British Captain John Marshall.

Its ISO code is MH.


Marshall Islands has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate with a west season from May to November. Its terrain is mostly composed of low coral limestone and sand islands.


Marshall Islands has a population of 73,376 making it the 201st largest in the world.

Marshallese is the official language and most common language spoken. The major ethnic group is Marshallese. The majority of the population is Protestant or Roman Catholic.

The two official languages of the Marshall Islands are English and Marshallese. A vast majority of permanent residents speak the native language which is also referred to as Ebon. This Austronesian language is comprised of two dialects; Ratak and R?lik. Using a Latin alphabet that includes twenty four letters Marshallese also has two different spelling systems; old and new. Approximately 44,000 people living in the Marshall Islands speak Marshallese, which unlike other native Micronesian languages makes it one of the local languages not under threat of disappearing. Commonly used words in this language include the numbers one and two which can be translated to juon and ruo. If a local refers to taking a Sunday drive in June that means he or she will be travelling on Jab?t during the month of Juun. There are no recognized minority languages in the Marshall Islands and only a small percentage of residents cite English as their mother tongue.

Read more on Marshall Islands's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 692.


Marshall Islands is an independent country. It gained independence from the US-administered UN trusteeship. Its constitution was last ratified in 1979.

The Republic of the Marshall Islands is a sovereign state in free association with the U. S. Its government operates under a mixed parliamentary-presidential system. The Legislative branch is made up of the Legislature, or Nitijela, which includes thirty three members elected from each of the Islands’ constituencies. The Executive branch is made up of the President and Presidential Cabinet. Members of the Legislature as well as the President serve four year terms. Although in years past matters pertaining to government affairs and administration were carried out in the Marshall Islands Capital Building this large structure has since fallen into disrepair and government offices and departments have had to be relocated to various locations throughout the capital city of Majuro.

Read more on Marshall Islands's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Marshall Islands's GDP is $180,000,000.00 (USD) with $3,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 219th largest economy and its citizens the 181st richest in the world. The currency of Marshall Islands is the Dollar (USD).

Its major imports include foodstuffs, machinery and equipment, and fuels.


The flag design of the Pacific Ocean nation of the Marshall Islands features references to the ocean, the sun, the Northern Hemisphere archipelago as well as the islands’ geographical location near the equator. The Marshall Islands adopted their flag in 1979 after the country had become self-governing. It was designed by former First Lady and wife of the nation’s first President, Amata Kabua. The white and orange diagonal stripes depicted on the flag symbolize courage and peace as well as the islands of Ralik and Ratak. Because of the Marshall Islands’ long history of colonialism before adopting its own flag the region has been represented by a flag of German origin as well as another sporting the official United Nations design, one depicting the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, and the American stars and stripes.

Read more on Marshall Islands's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps