Where is Malta?

Located in Southern Europe, Malta is an island nation.The country is not currently involved in any territory disputes.

Malta is a European country covering 316.00 km2. This makes it the 10th smallest country in the world and about 9 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 35 50 N, 14 35 E and Valletta is the capital city.

The name Malta is said to come from the Greek word "meli", meaning honey.

Its ISO code is MT.


Malta has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level. Its lowest elevation is Mediterranean Sea. Its highest elevation is Ta'Dmejrek (near Dingli) which is 253m above tall.

It has a Mediterranean climate with mild, rainy winters and hot, dry summers. Its terrain is mostly low, rocky and flat with some coastal cliffs.


Malta has a population of 415,196 making it the 174th largest in the world. The majority of the population lives in the eastern half of the country.

Maltese is the official language and most common spoken language. The major ethnic group is Maltese. The majority of the country is Roman Catholic.

The dialing code for the country is 356.


Malta is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1964. Its constitution was last ratified in 1964.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Malta's GDP is $16,320,000,000.00 (USD) with $37,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 150th largest economy and its citizens the 44th richest in the world. The currency of Malta is the Euro (EUR).

Its major export partners are Egypt, Germany, and Libya. Its main exports are machinery and mechanical appliances, mineral fuels, and oil. Its major import partners are Italy, Canada, and Germany. Its major imports include mineral fuels, oils and products, and electrical machinery.

This page was last modified on September 6th, 2017