Macedonia is a democratic country with a politics taking place in the context of a parliamentary representative democratic system. The prime minister is the most powerful figure in government. The prime minister appoints cabinet ministers who are in charge of the various ministries. The president is more of a ceremonial symbol. There are three branches of the government namely the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary with each branch working independent of each other.

The elections in Macedonia are considered free and fair with every citizen above the age of 18 having the right to vie for a seat through any of the several political parties. Elections are held every four years and any citizen above the age of 18 years is eligible to vote. The voting bloc comprises of 1.5 million people drawn from 6 districts. The electoral system has been very dynamic since 1991. Major disputes have always arisen after elections due to lack of proper representation in respect to seats and number of votes cast.

The parliament is of Macedonia is known as the Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia, or simply as Sobranie. The meeting place of the parliament building is referred to as the “Great Hall of the Macedonian Parliament. It is located in the capital town of Skopje. The official workplace of the Macedonian president is known as Villa Vodno. It is situated at the foothill of Vodno, on the southern edge of the capital of Skopje.

Macedonia has a multi-party system, where coalition governments must be formed. Major parties include the Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization-Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity and the Social Democratic Union of Macedonia.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps