Following the collapse of Libyan Arab Jamahiriya in 2011, an interim government known as the Government of National Accord was established under the Libyan Political Agreement. The initiative was UN-led and was officially signed on December 17, 2015. The agreement was endorsed by the UN National Security Council. The Security Council also acknowledged the Government of National Accord as the only legitimate executive authority in Libya and also welcomed the formation of a Presidency Council for the country. Following the adoption of the Presidential Council and the GNA, the government remains split between the House of Representative and the General National Congress.

Under Qaddafi’s government, political parties were banned and all elections were nonpartisan under the law. Multiparty democracy was introduced in 2011The National Transitional Council formed by anti-Gaddafi’s forces. In 2012, the NTC supervised a democratic election for the General National Congress comprising of 200 members. The elections in Libya are supervised by the Libyan election commission.

Libya has a unicameral legislature called the Council of Deputies. The parliament building which houses 200 legislators is located in Tobruk. Tobruk is a port city and the capital of Butnan District located near the border of Egypt. The office of the Prime Minister of Libya is located in Tripoli, the capital of Libya. Tripoli is the largest city in Libya and is located next to the Tunisian border.

Nation and Prosperity, The Message, and Union for Homeland are among the parties with seats in the General National Congress.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps