The structure of the government of Liberia largely resembles that of the government of United States. The politics of Liberia takes place in the context of parliamentary representative democratic republic. The country is a unitary state with no federalism. Liberia operates in a multi-party system. The executive powers are executed by the government whereas the legislative power is executed by the by the government and the parliament.

The National Elections Commission is responsible for conducting elections. The elections in Liberia are conducted every six years. During the elections, a president and members of the House of Representatives are elected. The president is limited to two six-year term. 73 members are elected to represent the various counties. These elected members become the members of the House of Representatives. The number of representatives per county is apportioned according to the Geographic size and the population of the county. The larger the county and the higher the population are, the more the representatives.

The official residence of the president of Liberia is referred to as the Executive Mansion. The building is located in the country’s capital, Monrovia. The semi-circular eight-story building was constructed between 1960 and 1963. The parliament of Liberia is bicameral. The upper house is the Senate and the House of Representatives is the upper house. The parliament buildings of Liberia are located in Capitol Building in Capitol Hill District in Monrovia.

Liberia is a multi-party system. Some of these parties include the Unity Party, the Liberty Party, and the National Patriotic Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps