The Kyrgyz language belongs to the family of Kipchak languages, also referred to as Qypchaq, Kypchak or northwestern Turkic languages. Kipchak is a sub set of Turkic language family. There are features that are unique to this language such as stretched labial vowel harmony, diphthongs from /g/ and /b/ syllables and continuous fortition. The Kyrgyz language belongs to the Kyrgyz-Kipchak category.

The Kyrgyz language was initially composed in Turkic tunes that whose place was later taken by Perso-Arabic alphabet. The uniform Turkic alphabet was used between by 1928 and 1940. The Cyrillic alphabet that has been in use since 1940 up to date. There are 21 letters of the Cyrillic alphabet along with nine special characters.

According to the census conducted in 2014, the total population of the Kyrgyz Republic was 5,776,500. The national and official language is Kyrgyz, while the second most commonly spoken language is Russian.

Other minority languages spoken in the country include Uzbek, French, German, and English.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps