When Did the City Become the Capital of the Country?

Bishkek was founded in 1825. When Kara-Kirghiz Autonomous Oblast was established in 1925, Pishpek was made the capital city of the country. The name, Pishpek, was later changed in 1991 in the parliament to Bishkek. Bishkek is located on the northern stretch of the Kyrgyz Ala-Too range which is an extension of the Tian Shan mountain range. The city is located at an altitude of 800 meters above sea level.

What is the Population of the Capital City?

As the largest city in the country, Bishkek plays an important role in the functions of Kyrgyzstan. The whole population of Bishkek is around 937,400 people. The city is characterized by a dense population occupying its inner city, and a population outside of the city that is more dispersed.

What Are Some of the Major Attractions in the Capital City?

Bishkek is home to a number of tourist attraction sites. Ala-Too Square is a massive square in the center of the city. The city has a big botanical garden as well as 20 parks, which is where Bishkek's nickname of the "green city" comes from. There are monuments in the city which portray the legendary figures, prominent people and remarkable events of Kyrgyzstan. There are also theatres and concert halls where dramas and other performances are carried out. In the outskirts of the city, there are gorges, peaks covered by snow, monuments and more.

What is the Climate of the Capital City?

Bishkek is the biggest and the capital city of the Kyrgyz Republic. The city was founded in 1825 and covers an area on 169.6km square. The population of Bishkek as of the 2015 census is 937,400. The city is characterized by a hot and dry continental climate with the temperatures with a range of 3 degrees Celsius in January to 31 degrees Celsius in July. During summer, dryness is witnessed accompanied by thunderstorms. In winter, snow storms and thick fog is common.

This page was last modified on January 9th, 2018