The hybrid semi-democratic government of Kuwait is composed of the monarchical, the Emir, and the National Assembly. The state of Kuwait is termed as semi-democratic because a section of government is put in place by a democratic process. The National Assembly allows the citizens of Kuwait to exercise their democratic rights of voting. The Emir is empowered by the Constitution to choose the prime minister of Kuwait.

The electoral commission in the country hold elections for the National Assembly and the municipal government. According to the constitution, the elections are held in the country every four years. However, if the constitutional court of the Emir dissolves the parliament, then the elections can be held earlier than the expected time. Between 1963 and 975 the country was divided into five districts. Each district was expected to elect ten deputies to represent them at the National Assembly. Later, the five districts were subdivided into 25 sub-districts. Therefore, each district would elect two deputies to assume the office in the National Assembly.

The National Assembly members meet and hold their functions in the parliament building located in the city of Kuwait. The parliament building was designed by a Danish citizen by the name Jorn Utzon, best known for designing the Sydney Opera House in Australia.

Political parties in Kuwait include Popular Action Bloc, Justice and Peace Alliance, the National Democratic Alliance, and Hadas.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps