Where is Kenya?

Located in Eastern Africa, Kenya has a 3,457.00 km border with Ethiopia (867 km), Somalia (684 km), South Sudan (317 km), Tanzania (775 km) and Uganda (814 km). It has a 536.00 km coastline. Kenya served as an important mediator in brokering Sudan's north-south separation in February 2005.

Kenya is an African country covering 580,367.00 km2 of which 1.93% is water and 569,140.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 48th largest country in the world and five times the size of Ohio; slightly more than twice the size of Nevada. Its geographic coordinates are 1 00 N, 38 00 E and Nairobi is the capital city.

The country is named for Mount Kenya.

Its ISO code is KE.


Kenya has a mean elevation of 762 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate along its coast and an arid climate in the interior. Its terrain consists of low plains, central highlands, and a fertile plateau.


Kenya has a population of 46,790,758 making it the 30th largest in the world.

English and Kiswahili are official languages; numerous indigenous languages are also spoken. The major ethnic groups are Kikuyu, Luhya, and Luo. The majority of the population identifies as Christian.

The dialing code for the country is 254.


Kenya is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1963. Its constitution was last ratified in 2010.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Kenya's GDP is $153,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $3,400.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 74th largest economy and its citizens the 179th richest in the world. The currency of Kenya is the Shilling (KES).

Its major export partners are Uganda, the United States, and Tanzania. Its main exports are tea, horticultura products, coffee, petroleum products, fish, and cement. Its major import partners are China, india, and the United Arab Emirates. Its major imports include machinery and transportation equipment, petroleum products, and motor vehicles.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018