Ghana has a type of government called a constitutional democracy. The country is led by a president who is both the head of state and government. The government consists of the Parliament, Legislature and the Judiciary.

Elections in Ghana are held every four years. The president may be elected for a maximum of two four-year terms. Those eligible to vote are citizens aged 18 and above. The country has a multiparty system. Some of the political parties include the National Democratic Party, Progressive People’s Party, National Democratic Congress, New Patriotic Party, and Convention People’s Party among others. The Electoral Commission is responsible for organizing and overseeing elections in Ghana.

The president’s residence is at Flagstaff House in Accra. The building cost $135-170 million. Kwame Nkrumah, who was the first president of Ghana, designed the Parliament House. The parliament was built using the eclectic architectural style in 1965. Renovations of the house took place from 2012-2013. Its current address is East Ridge in Accra, Ghana.

Ghana is home to a multi-party system, though there are two main parties that generally dominant politics in the country. These parties are the National Democratic Congress and the New Patriotic Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps