Where is Gabon?

Located in Central Africa, Gabon has a 3,261.00 km border with Cameroon (349 km), Republic of the Congo (2,567 km) and Equatorial Guinea (345 km). It has a 885.00 km coastline. The United Nations has urged Equatorial Guinea and Gabon to resolve the sovereignty dispute over the Gabon-occupied Mbane Island.

Libreville is Gabon’s capital. It is found near Komo River and had a population of 703,904 in 2013. The city became a capital in 1960. Libreville is a magnificent city attracting many tourists to it annually. Some of the tourist destinations located within the city include Seaside Boulevard, St. Michel Church, Sabang Arboretum, Akanda National Park, and Point-Denis Beach. The climate of Libreville is tropical monsoon with both dry and wet seasons.

Read more on Gabon's Capital

Gabon is an African country covering 267,667.00 km2 of which 3.74% is water and 257,667.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 76th largest country in the world and slightly smaller than Colorado. Its geographic coordinates are 1 00 S, 11 45 E and Libreville is the capital city.

The name originates from the Portuguese word "gabao" meaning "cloak".

Its ISO code is GA.


Gabon has a mean elevation of 377 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate that is very hot and humid. Its terrain is narrow with a hilly interior and savanna in the east and south.


Gabon has a population of 1,738,541 making it the 152nd largest in the world.

French is the official language. The major ethnicity is Bantu tribes. The majority of the population identifies as Christian.

The people of Gabon speak many languages which can be designed as either Bantu or Non-Bantu. Some of the Bantu languages include Fang, Punu, Nzebi, Mpengwe, Benga, Simba, Sake, and Barama. French is the official language used within the country for instruction. Fang is the most popular vernacular language used in Gabon.

Read more on Gabon's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 241.


Gabon is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1960. Its constitution was last ratified in 1991.

The government of Gabon is a republic whose leader is a president. The president, assisted by the vice president, performs all functions related to being the head of state and government. Similar to most governments, there are three arms of the Gabon government namely the legislature, executive, and judiciary. These leaders took office in October 2009, August 2017, and September 2016 respectively. Although Gabon has a multi-party presidential system, the Gabonese Democratic Party has dominated the politics of the country for a long time. Voting in Gabon is a compulsory exercise. Any person who is eligible to vote but does not vote may be fined.

Read more on Gabon's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Gabon's GDP is $35,980,000,000.00 (USD) with $19,300.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 121st largest economy and its citizens the 84th richest in the world. The currency of Gabon is the Franc (XAF).

Its major export partners are China, Italy, and Trinidad and Tobago. Its main exports are crude oil, manganese, and uranium. Its major import partners are China, France, and the United States. Its major imports include machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, and chemicals.


The flag of Gabon is a symbol of the country’s unity and pride. It consists of the three colors of blue, green, and yellow. Blue stands for the South Atlantic Ocean and the other waters in Gabon. Yellow represents the sun while green alludes to the forests that cover a large portion of Gabon’s land area. Gabon’s flag was adopted in 1960 when it achieved its independence. It is not clear who designed the flag. The current flag was an improvement of that which was used before independence. The previous flag had the French Tricolor similar to the French flag.

Read more on Gabon's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps