The Republic of Ethiopia runs a Federal parliamentary system of governance. The person that heads the government is the Prime Minister. It is the prerogative of parliament to appoint the prime minister. Ethiopia’s government comprises of the executive, legislature, and judiciary. The executive arm of power is also known as the Council of the ministers. It consists of the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister, and Cabinet ministers.

The Prime Minister and the President are both appointed by Parliament for a six-year term of service. Ethiopians elect the members of the Ethiopian parliament for a five-year term. The chosen individuals form the House of Representatives (Yehizbte wekayoch Mekir Bet) and House of Federation (YefedereshnMekir Bet). The Electoral Board is the body mandated to lead the elections in Ethiopia.

The President’s official residence is within the National Palace located in Addis Ababa, the nation’s capital. The members of the Ethiopian parliament hold their sessions within the Ethiopian Parliament building. The building, similar to the president’s residence, is located in Addis Ababa. It was built in the early 1930s.

Ethiopia is home to a multi-party system. Major coalitions include the Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front and the Coalition for Unity and Democracy.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps