Where is Ethiopia?

Located in Eastern Africa, Ethiopia has a 5,925.00 km border with Djibouti (342 km), Eritrea (1,033 km), Kenya (867 km), Somalia (1,640 km), South Sudan (1,299 km) and Sudan (744 km). Eritrea and Ethiopia agreed to abide by the 2002 Eritrea-Ethiopia Boundary Commission's delimitation decision.

Ethiopia is an African country covering 1,104,300.00 km2 of which 9.44% is water and 1,000,000.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 26th largest country in the world and slightly less than twice the size of Texas. Its geographic coordinates are 8 00 N, 38 00 E and Addis Ababa is the capital city.

The country's name derives from the Greek word "Aethiopia".

Its ISO code is ET.


Ethiopia has a mean elevation of 1,330 m above sea level.

It has a tropical monsoon climate that varies with elevation. Its terrain consists of high plateaus with a central mountain range divided by the Great Rift Valley.


Ethiopia has a population of 102,374,044 making it the 13th largest in the world.

Oromo, Amharic, Somali, Tigrigna, and Afar are all official languages. The major ethnic group is Oromo, followed by Somali and Tigray. The majority of the population is Ethiopian Orthodox or Muslim.

The dialing code for the country is 251.


Ethiopia is an independent country. Ethiopia is one of the oldest countries in the world; at least 2,000 years old. Its constitution was last ratified in 1995.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Ethiopia's GDP is $175,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,900.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 68th largest economy and its citizens the 198th richest in the world. The currency of Ethiopia is the Birr (ETB).

Its major export partners are Switzerland, China, the United States, and the Netherlands. Its main exports are coffee, oilseeds, and edible vegetables. Its major import partners are China, the United States, and Saudi Arabia. Its major imports include machinery and aircraft, metal, and electrical materials.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017