The government of Ecuador operates as a representative republic. Its citizens elect individuals to represent their interests in government matters. These representatives come from multiple political parties. Ecuador is led by its president, who acts as the Head of Government and the Head of State. Legislation is enacted by the National Assembly, which is unicameral and has 137 seats. The third branch of government in Ecuador is the judicial branch, which is headed by the National Court of Justice. This branch acts independently of the executive and legislative branches.

In Ecuador, voting is mandatory for individuals between the ages of 18 and 65. Those between 16 and 18 are eligible to vote, but not required. The President and Vice President run on the same election ticket and are elected by the citizens of Ecuador to serve a four-year term. The Constitution of Ecuador limits this to two four-year terms. The National Assembly is made up of 137 representatives, who are also elected to serve a four-year term. These individuals are chosen from 22 provinces.

The National Assembly, the unicameral legislative body in Ecuador, holds its sessions in the National Assembly building. This building is located in Quito and was built in 1959. Its original purpose was to hold an international meeting, however, the Congressional body of the time took over the building and it has housed legislative meetings ever since. The National Assembly building is characterized by its carved stone front, which was created by Luis Mideros. The design symbolizes the history of Ecuador, beginning with the pre-colonial era.

Ecuador has a multi-party system where the judiciary is independent of both the executive and the legislature. Some of Ecuador's active political parties include A New Option, Alfarista Radical Front, and the Communist Party of Ecuador.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps