Where is Ecuador?

Located in Western South America, Ecuador has a 2,237.00 km border with Colombia (708 km) and Peru (1,529 km). It has a 2,237.00 km coastline. Organized illegal narcotics operations in Colombia penetrate across Ecuador's shared border.

The capital of Ecuador is Quito, which is located in the Guayllabamba river basin in the northern mountain region of the country. At 9,350 feet above sea level, Quito is the highest official national capital in the world. Quito was founded at its current location in December of 1534 and has served as the capital since then. The entire metropolitan area has a population size of approximately 4.7 million individuals, making Quito the second most populated city in Ecuador. It is a major tourist attraction and most known for its well-preserved historic center, which was one of the first UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the world. Quito is located in the subtropical highland climate, which is characterized by mild summers and relatively dry winters.

Read more on Ecuador's Capital

Ecuador is a South American country covering 283,561.00 km2 of which 2.37% is water and 276,841.00 km2 is land. The area does include the Galapagos Islands. This makes it the 73rd largest country in the world and slightly smaller than Nevada. Its geographic coordinates are 2 00 S, 77 30 W and Quito is the capital city.

The country is named for its position on the globe.

Its ISO code is EC.


Ecuador has a mean elevation of 1,117 m above sea level. Since the earth is not a perfect sphere and has an equatorial bulge, the highest point on the planet farthest from its center is Mount Chimborazo not Mount Everest, which is merely the highest peak above sea level.

It has a varied climate that is tropical along the coast and in jungle lowlands, but cooler at higher elevations. Its terrain is characterized by a central plain, central highlands, and flat to rolling eastern jungle.


Ecuador has a population of 16,080,778 making it the 67th largest in the world. The country's population is clustered in the interior, although there are also concentrations along the western coast.

Spanish is the official language. The major ethnic groups reported are mestizo, Montubio, and Amerindian. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic.

Ecuador recognizes three languages with official status: Spanish, Kichwa, and Shuar. Of these languages, the most widely utilized is Spanish, which is spoken by at least 93% of the population. The Spanish spoken throughout Ecuador varies slightly and is categorized by region: Equatorial Coastal, Andean, and Amazonian. Kichwa and Shuar are both indigenous languages. Kichwa is spoken by between 1 and 2 million individuals in the Chimborazo region and Shuar is spoken by around 35,000 individuals in the Amazon region of the country. Spanish speakers in Ecuador make significant use of the diminutive form of words, using it to be extra polite and friendly. Additionally, many of the terms used here originate from the Kichwa language, rather than Spanish. Ecuador is also home to 11 other minority indigenous languages, some of which are considered critically endangered.

Read more on Ecuador's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 593.


Ecuador is an independent country. It gained independence from Spain in 1822. Its constitution was last ratified in 2008.

The government of Ecuador operates as a representative republic, which means that its citizens elect individuals to represent their interests in government matters. The president leads the country, acting as both the Head of Government and the Head of State. This individual is elected to serve a four-year term and is limited to serving two terms in their lifetime. Legislative duties are carried out by the National Assembly, a unicameral body that seats 137 representatives. Like the president, these legislative representatives are elected to serve a four year term. These individuals represent 22 districts, which means some districts have more representatives than others. Voting in Ecuador is mandatory for individuals between the ages of 18 and 65.

Read more on Ecuador's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Ecuador's GDP is $182,000,000,000.00 (USD) with $11,000.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 65th largest economy and its citizens the 133rd richest in the world. The currency of Ecuador is the Dollar (USD).

Its major export partner is the United States. Its main exports are petroleum, bananas, cut flowers, and shrimp. Its major import partners are the United States, China, and Colombia. Its major imports include industrial materials, fuels and lubricants, and nondurable consumer goods.


The flag of Ecuador is made up of 3 horizontal stripes: yellow (situated at the top), blue (in the middle), and red (at the bottom). Additionally, the Ecuadorian coat of arms is located in the center of the flag. It was first officially adopted in 1835 and is known as the Tricolor. Each of the colors on this flag has a specific meaning, as well as the coat of arms. The current flag design is based on the original flag from 1806 that was used by Francisco de Miranda off the coast of Haiti, while in battle with Spanish forces. This original flag has gone on to influence the flag designs of Colombia and Venezuela as well. Ecuador celebrates Flag Day on September 26th.

Read more on Ecuador's Flag

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps