Dominica is a parliamentary democracy or a republic democracy, where the president is the head of state. The cabinet controls all executive power, and the prime minister is the head of government. The House of Assembly comprises of 30 members. Dominica is unique amongst its Caribbean counterparts for never having been a Commonwealth realm, i.e., it was never reliant on Great Britain.

Dominica experienced its first election in 1832. The country is mostly defined by a two-party system. Previously, Dominica was a three-party system before two parties, the Dominica Freedom Party and the Dominica Labour Party, joined together to form a coalition government. In Dominica, the prime minister has to call any election, and can do so with 25 days worth of notice. It is then up to the elections commission to orchestrate the election.

The white building was built in 1811 using the The House of Assembly of Dominica is a Georgian-colonial style building in Roseau. The president’s residence is also located along the same street of the House of Assembly. It is relatively new, as it was constructed from 2011-2014.

The main political parties of Dominica are the Dominica Labour Party (DLP) and the United Workers' Party (UWP). Smaller parties that exist include the Dominica Freedom Party (DFP), the Dominica Progressive party (DPP), the People's Democratic Movement (PDM) and the People's Party of Dominica (PPOD).

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps