The government of Chad is carried out under a presidential republic system, which means the citizens of this country vote for individuals to represent their interests in government. The President of Chad serves as the Head of State and the Head of Government for the country. Legislative responsibility is held by Parliament, a unicameral body that is made up of the 155-seat National Assembly. Although the judicial branch acts independently of the executive and legislative branches, its highest offices are appointed by the President.

The citizens of Chad elect the President to serve a 5-year term. Previously, the President of Chad was limited to serving only 2 terms, however, that limit was removed by Parliament sometime between 2001 and 2006. The current President, Idriss Déby, has been in office since 1996. The 155 representatives of the National Assembly are elected to serve a 4-year term by a first-past-the-post electoral system in which the candidate with the highest number of votes wins. A total of 59 constituencies are represented, 25 of these elect only one representative while 34 elect multiple representatives.

Representatives of the National Assembly meet in the Building of National Assembly. This building is located in N’Djamena, the capital of Chad. It is a long, concrete building with a modern architectural appearance. Mirrored windows with an arched shape line the front of the building. The presidential palace is also located in this city and has been the site of several rebel attacks during the current administration.

The government of Chad is identified as a multi-party system, although the majority of power is typically held by only one party. Currently, the National Assembly is dominated by the Patriotic Salvation Movement (with 88 seats), which is the same party as the President. The National Rally for Democracy in Chad holds 6 seats and is considered to be on the same side as the President. Other opposition parties represented in Parliament include: National Union for Democracy and Renewal (10 seats), Union for Renewal and Democracy (8 seats), and Federation Action for the Republic (4 seats). An additional 44 seats are held by minority parties.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps