The political system of Burkina Faso can be described as a semi-presidential republic. The Prime Minister is the head of a government in a multi-party system, and the President is considered the head of state. Executive power can be exercised by the President as well as the Prime Minister's government. Legislation and legislative power are controlled by the government and parliament of Burkina Faso. The country has experienced attempted or successful coup d'etat in 1966, 1980,1982, 1987,1989, 2014, and 2015 which gives a sense of how volatile the political landscape can become in Burkina Faso.

Burkina Faso elects their parliamentary representatives and president every five years. Both positions serve five-year terms, and the next national election will take place sometime in 2020. The country is divided into 45 electoral provinces within the 13 regions, each area elects two to nine representatives (depending on size), and these elected individuals are part of a political party. 111 members in the National Assembly are chosen through proportional representation and 16 members of the National Assembly who are nationally elected.

The parliament of the country is known as the National Assembly of Burkina Faso and is located in the capital city of Ouagadougou, located in the Centre Region. This parliament is home to 127 elected members of the government. During the 2014 Burkinabe Uprising, protesters made their way into the National Assembly and set fire to it.

Burkina Faso is home to a long list of political parties. Some of these include the African Independence Party and the Alliance for Democracy and Federation-African Democratic Rally.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps