The government of Belarus is characterized as a presidential republic. The president is the head of state while the prime minister heads the government. The National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus is a bicameral parliament that consists of the Council of the Republic and the House of Representatives, also known as the upper house and the lower house respectively. The president appoints the Council of Ministers which is tasked with the responsibility of running the various ministries of the government.

The parliament building is located at Independence Square in the capital city of Minsk. The building was completed in 1934. The president’s official office is located at the Palace of the Republic in the capital city while the president’s residence is located in the Zaslawye Minsk District.

National elections in Belarus elect the president and the legislature. The president is elected by a majority vote to serve a five-year term but for an unlimited number of terms. The House of Representatives consists of one hundred and ten members elected by single-seat constituencies to serve for a four-year term. The Council of the Republic has 64 members of whom 64 are indirectly elected while eight are nominated by the president.

Some of the political parties currently active in Belarus include Belaya Rus, Agrarian Party, the Belarusian Socialist Sporting Party, the Communist Party of Belarus, and Belarusian Independence Bloc, the Young Front, and the Belarusian Christian Democracy.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps