Yemen, officially known as the Republic of Yemen, operates under a provisional or transitional government system. As a developing nation Yemen has been plagued by accusations of mass corruption and fraud. After the unification of North and South Yemen political power in the country became shared by the President (who controls matters of state), Major General (who is in control of the majority of Yemen’s military forces), and the figurehead of the Islamist Islah party whose duties included brokering patronage payments to various political entities including tribal sheikhs.

Yemen’s House of Representatives is made up of 301 assembly members. Each member is elected to terms of six years each.

The legislative business of Yemen takes place in The House of Representatives which is located in Sana´a, the country’s capital city. The President of Yemen resides in the Presidential Palace, which is also referred to as the Republican Palace. This building is also located in the city of Sana’a; specifically in its southern al-Sabeen neighborhood. The Presidential Palace is protected by a high security detail known as the Presidential Defense Forces.

Political parties which took part in Yemen’s last election included a large array of differnt groups including the Yemen Socialist Party, General People's Congress, National Arab Socialist Ba'ath Party, Yemeni Congregation for Reform, and Nasserite Unionist People's Organization.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps