Where is Wallis and Futuna?

Located in Oceania, Wallis and Futuna is an island nation. It has a 129.00 km coastline.

The capital city of The Territory of Wallis and Futuna is Mata-Utu. The capital is also the largest and most populated city in the territory. The capital is also the capital of the district of Hahake. Mata-Utu became a major town and capital in the 18th century. The city is Wallis and Futuna’s business and administrative capital with all of the essential amenities. Mata-Utu’s population, as of 2003, was 1,191 people. The Mata-Utu Cathedral is found downtown with Mt Fakahega opposite the wharf. The city has a tropical climate with rain received throughout the year.

Read more on Wallis and Futuna's Capital

Wallis and Futuna is an Oceanian country covering 142.00 km2. and about 19 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 13 18 S, 176 12 W and Mata Utu is the capital city.

It was named after British Captain Samuel Wallis, who discovered the island in 1767.

Its ISO code is WF.


Wallis and Futuna has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

The climate is hot and dry, with rain a rare occurrence. Its terrain is of volcanic origin and consists of low hills.


Wallis and Futuna has a population of 15,664 making it the 220th largest in the world.

Wallisian, Furtunian and French are all widely spoken. The most common ethnic group is reported as Polynesian. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic.

The official language of the Territory of Wallis and Futuna is French. Two other languages are spoken. These languages are Wallisian or East Uvean (mostly spoken in Wallis Island) and Futunan or East-Futunan (mostly spoken in Futuna Island). Generally, Wallisian is more popular in the territory compared to Futunan. Some of the population can speak, read and write French. Both Wallisian and Futunan use the standard five vowels used in English. However, Wallisian uses lengthened variations of the vowels while Futunan’s modified vowels can either be lengthened or shortened. Wallisian and Futunan are closely related to the Rennellesse and the Tongan languages.

Read more on Wallis and Futuna's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 681.


It is an overseas territory of France. Its constitution was last ratified in 1958.

Wallis and Futuna is a French collectivity and is therefore governed by France. Prior to 2003, Wallis and Futuna was not a French collectivity but was instead an overseas territory. France has a president as well as a prime minister. The local government of Wallis and Futuna is divided into three kingdoms by the names of Uvea, Sigave, and Alo. Each kingdom has a king as the leader of government.

Read more on Wallis and Futuna's Government


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Wallis and Futuna's GDP is $60,000,000.00 (USD) with $3,800.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 222nd largest economy and its citizens the 172nd richest in the world. The currency of Wallis and Futuna is the Franc (XPF).

Its major imports include chemicals, machinery, and consumer goods.


Wallis and Futuna does not have its own unique national flag. Instead, as Wallis and Futuna is a territory of France, the official flag of Wallis and Futuna is the national flag of France. However, Wallis and Futuna has its own unofficial flag that bears the flag of France, named the Tricolore, in the territory

Read more on Wallis and Futuna's Flag

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps