Where is Vatican?

Located in Southern Europe, as an enclave of Rome, Italy, Vatican has a 3.00 km border with Italy.

The Vatican City State, because of its small size, is a city in itself created on the same day that it achieved statehood after the signing of the Lateran Treaty. Vatican City has a small population of 450 citizens and 400 residents. However, over 2,000 workers do not live within the enclave of the city. At the Vatican, citizenship is through appointment and one loses it upon leaving employment. The city is a favorite site for tourists and religious pilgrims who come for religious functions or to visit historic palaces and structures that form the core of the Catholic Faith. There are several well-manicured gardens, monuments, and buildings. Other places of interest include the Saint Peter’s tomb. Over history, these buildings have undergone several redesigns and beautification by artists of the caliber of Michelangelo. Precipitation mainly occurs from September to May, paving way for a dry and hot summer. Autumn experiences chilly conditions.

Read more on Vatican's Capital

Vatican is a European country covering 0.44 km2. This makes it the smallest country in the world and about6,000 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 41 54 N, 12 27 E and Vatican City is the capital city.

The word "holy" comes from the Greek word "hera", meaning sacred. The word "See" comes from the Latin word "sedes", which means "seat".

Its ISO code is VA.

The currency of Vatican is the Euro (EUR).


Vatican has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a temperate climate with mild, rainy winters from September to May and hot, dry summres from May to September. Its terrain is urban and low-lying.


Vatican has a population of 1,000 making it the 235th largest in the world.

Italian, Latin, and French are all widely spoken. The major ethnicities reported are Italian, Swiss, and other,. The majority of the country is Roman Catholic.

The Vatican’s constitution does not establish any official language for the state. However, one of the Vatican’s important documents, the Legge sulle fonti del diritto (Law on the sources of law) states that all important documents will be promulgated and published in Italian. Interestingly, the Vatican’s official website uses Italian, English, French, German, Spanish, Latin, Portuguese, Chinese, and Arabic.

Read more on Vatican's Languages

The dialing code for the country is 379.


Vatican is an independent country. It gained independence in 1929. Its constitution was last ratified in 2000.

The Vatican is an absolute ecclesiastical elective monarchy where cardinals elect a Pope to take over in case of death or retirement of a sitting pope. The Pope who is the head of state, currently Pope Francis, selects most of the members who run his government. The Pope lives in the Apostolic Palace. The election of the Pope is strict and follows the church’s tradition. Voting must not have any irregularity and a pope must be elected within the stipulated time. Elected Popes may choose to assume office immediately or after seven days.

Read more on Vatican's Government


The flag of Vatican City is a square flag with two colors, white and yellow, placed vertically together with the Vatican Coat of Arms. The current flag has been in use since the 1929 Lateran Treaty that granted the Vatican autonomy. The colors and symbols of the flag reflect the rich history of the Catholic Church and borrow heavily from biblical symbolism. Before becoming official, papal infantries and the Noble guards used this flag in their lines of duty. Over history, the flag underwent minor changes.

Read more on Vatican's Flag

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018

More on Graphicmaps