The government of the island nation is formally known as the Turks and Caicos Islands Government (TCIG). The Island is a British overseas territory, and therefore, the chief of state is the monarch of the United Kingdom, Queen Elizabeth II. Following consultation with the foreign office, a governor is appointed by the British monarch to act as a representative of the crown in the islands. The Prime Minister is the head of government and is a locally voted premier. The new title was adopted in 2006 following the implementation of the new constitution. The system of government of the island is a constitutional monarchy.

Elections are conducted every four years in the Turks and Caicos Islands. Citizens aged 18 years and above are eligible to vote in the general elections. Candidates to be elected as representatives in the National Assembly should be 21 years and above. The British overseas territory operates on a multiparty system. Over the years, the two dominant local political parties have been the People’s National Party and People’s Democratic Movement.

The National Assembly is found in Grand Turk, the island’s capital, while other government offices are located all over the islands. Unlike the National Assembly in the United Kingdom which comprises of the upper and lower chamber, the parliamentary system in the Turks and Caicos Islands is unicameral.

Major political parties in Turks and Caicos include the People's Democratic Movement and the Progressive National Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps