The government of Togo is considered a presidential republic, which means the citizens of the country are actively involved in choosing their political representation. The most important government position in Togo is held by the President, who acts as both the Head of Government and the Head of State. The legislative branch is made up of the National Assembly, which is a unicameral body with 91 seats. It is lead by the Prime Minister and shares legislative responsibility with the executive branch. The judicial branch works independently of the other two branches of government.

Citizens of Togo elect the President to serve a 5-year term. This election is based on plurality voting, which means the candidate with the most votes wins in the first round. Members of the National Assembly, however, are elected by a closed list system in which citizens can only vote for the political party, rather than the candidate. Legislative representatives serve based on proportional representation of 30 constituencies. These constituencies have between 2 and 10 representatives. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President of Togo.

The National Assembly members meet in Lomé, where the congressional palace is located. This building is long across one side and has a large, arc-shaped entrance that extends up to its upper floors. Its very top floor is not as long as the lower levels of the building and was built of cement rather than brick. The presidential palace is located in the same city. This building is characterized by its modern architecture and use of wood, brick, and iron. Its construction was finished in 1905.

Togo is considered a country of one political party, although minority parties are permitted to run for office as well. Currently, the Union for the Republic party holds majority control. This is the party of the President, the Prime Minister, and 62 of the 91 seats in the National Assembly. Other political groups represented in the National Assembly include: Save Togo Collective (20 seats), Rainbow Alliance (5 seats), Union of Forces for Change (2 seats), and Sursaut National (1 seat).

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps