The government of Tanzania is carried out as a democratic republic, which means that the citizens of the country elect individuals to represent their interests in government. In Tanzania, the President serves as both Head of State and Head of Government. Legislative duties are the responsibility of the National Assembly of Tanzania, a unicameral body with 324 representatives. The Prime Minister of the National Assembly is appointed by the President. Additionally the Cabinet is formed of members of this legislative body. The judicial branch operates independently of the executive and legislative branches.

The citizens of Tanzania elect the President to serve a 5-year term. This position is limited to two terms. Additionally, 232 of the 324 National Assembly representatives are elected by the people as well, one representative for each of the constituencies in the country. Seventy-five seats are reserved for women, chosen by the political parties in power according to proportionality. The House of Representatives of Zanzibar is given 5 seats to choose and the President nominates the remaining 10 seats.

The National Assembly of Tanzania convenes at the Parliament House in the city of Dodoma, which has been the official capital of the country since 1974. Since this city was declared the capital of Tanzania, the government has been in the process of moving all of its administration from Dar es Salaam (the former capital) to Dodoma. As a result, the presidential residence is still located in Dar es Salaam. This residence is known by several names, including: the White House, the State House, and Ikulu. The main section of the residence was finished in 1922.

Tanzania is home to a multi-party system. Major political parties include Chama Cha Mapinduzi (Party of the Revolution), the Civic United Front, the Party for Democracy and Progress, the Union for Multiparty Democracy, the NCCR-Maguezi, and the National League for Democracy.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps