Sweden, or the Kingdom of Sweden, is governed by a parliamentary system under a constitutional monarchy. The nation’s constitution includes four basic laws: the Act of Succession, Instrument of Government, Fundamental Law on Freedom of Expression, and Freedom of the Press Act. The head of the government is the prime minister who heads the cabinet.

Sweden’s 349 member Riksdag holds the legislative power over the northern European nation. Members are elected to four year terms with general elections taking place every four years on the second Sunday of September. The prime minister is appointed by the Speaker of the Riksdag. The King of Sweden holds a primarily ceremonial role and his official duties include opening the Riksdag session each year, chairing meetings of the Advisory Council on Foreign Affairs, and representing Sweden on international state visits.

Sweden’s legislative body is known as the Riksdag and members gather to conduct the business of the country in a building called Parliament House which is located on the island of Helgeandsholmen. Construction of this neoclassical structure began in 1839 and was finally completed in1905. The official residence of Sweden’s prime minister is Sager House in Stockholm. This Baroque Revival styled building was completed in 1893.

Sweden has a multiparty system. Some of the major political parties include the Swedish Social Democratic Party, the Sweden Democrats, the Green Party, and the Moderate Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps