Suriname is a republic with politics taking place in the context of parliamentary representative democracy. The president is both the head of state and government. The executive power is vested in the government and is dependent on the parliament. The legislative power is exercised by the government and the National Assembly. The judiciary is independent of the other two arms of government. Suriname also has a system of pluriform multiparty.

Elections in Suriname take place every five years. On a national level, the citizens elect the president and the members of the National Assembly. The president is elected by the Electoral College through parliament. The National Assembly is made up of 52 members elected per district by proportional representation. The elections are supervised by the electoral commission. Citizens who have attained the age of 18 and have registered as voters are allowed to take part in the voting exercise.

The parliament building is on Het Park located on the Independence Square in Paramaribo. The original building which was constructed in 1718 was destroyed by fire on August 1, 1996. The current parliament building was a project done by engineer PJ Nagel. The official residence of the president of Suriname is referred to as the Presidential Palace. It is located across the Independence Square in the capital Paramaribo. The Presidential Palace was constructed in 1730 and is an example of a Dutch colonial architecture. The palace is part of the Paramaribo inner-city’s world heritage site.

Political parties in Suriname include the New Front for Democracy and Development and the National Democratic Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps