The political system of Sierra Leone takes place in an environment of a presidential representative republic. The parliament of Sierra Leone was founded in 1863 as a legislative council that would represent British interests in the colony. The President of Sierra Leone is considered both the head of government and head of state as well as appointing a Cabinet of Ministers which requires approval from parliament.

Elections in Sierra Leone take place every five years, with the last elections being held on 7 March 2018. A run-off was due to take place in late March of 2018 as no one candidate gained 55% of the vote which is required. The voting system used in Sierra Leone is first-past-the-post, similar to that of Canada, India, Pakistan, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The March 2018 elections have come under scrutiny by observers for taking place later than usual.

The national parliament of the country is located in the capital city of Freetown, on the western coast. There are 124 members of parliament and 112 of these individuals are elected from the 14 districts in the country. The remaining 12 seats are reserved for Paramount Chiefs, who represent the highest level of regional authority in the nation's districts. The first decade of independence in Sierra Leone was known as the golden age and this was due to the evolution and work of the national parliament.

Sierra Leone is home to multiple political parties, some of which include the Sierra Leone People's Party and the All People's Congress.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps