Where is Seychelles?

Located in the Indian Ocean, Seychelles is an island nation. It has a 491.00 km coastline. Both Mauritius and Seychelles claim the Chagos Islands.

Seychelles is an African country covering 455.00 km2. This makes it the 15th smallest country in the world and about 6 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 4 35 S, 55 40 E and Victoria is the capital city.

The name Seychelles comes from the French Captain Corneille Nicholas Morphey.

Its ISO code is SC.


Seychelles has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate with a summer rainy season from May to December and a winter dry season from December to April. Its terrain is volcanic with a narrow coastal strip and a rocky interior.


Seychelles has a population of 93,186 making it the 197th largest in the world.

Seychellois Creole is the official and most widely spoken language; English and French are also official. The ethnic groups are reported as a mixture of French, African, Indian, Chinese, and Arab. The majority of the population identifies as Roman Catholic.

The dialing code for the country is 248.


Seychelles is an independent country. It gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1976. Its constitution was last ratified in 1993.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Seychelles's GDP is $2,608,000,000.00 (USD) with $28,000.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 188th largest economy and its citizens the 64th richest in the world. The currency of Seychelles is the Rupee (SCR).

Its major export partners are France, the United Kingdom, and Mauritius. Its main exports are canned tuna, frozen fish, and petroleum products. Its major import partners are Saudi Arabia, Spain, and Singapore. Its major imports include machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, and petroleum products.

This page was last modified on January 17th, 2018