Where is Saint Helena?

Located in the South Atlantic Ocean, Saint Helena is an island nation. It has a 60.00 km coastline.

Saint Helena is an African country covering 308.00 km2. The area for each island is Saint Helena Island 122 sq km, Ascension Island 88 sq km, and Tristan da Cunha island group 98 sq km. and about 9 times smaller than Rhode Island. Its geographic coordinates are 15 57 S, 5 42 W and Jamestown is the capital city.

Saint Helena was named by Joao da Nova, a Portuguese explorer.

Its ISO code is SH.


Saint Helena has a mean elevation of 0 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate characterized by constant sea breezes. The terrain of the islands are volcanic, and associated with the Atlantic Mid-Ocean Ridge.


Saint Helena has a population of 7,795 making it the 224th largest in the world.

English is the primary language spoken. The major ethnic groups reported are African, white, and Chinese. The majority of the country is Protestant Christian.

The dialing code for the country is 290.


It is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom. Its constitution was last ratified in 2009.


The currency of Saint Helena is the Pound (SHP).

Its major imports include food, beverages, tobacco, and fuel oils.

This page was last modified on February 6th, 2018