Papua New Guinea's political system operates within the framework of a representative parliamentary democracy, allowing multiple parties to exist. The Prime Minister of the country is the head of the government which holds executive power. Legislative power is maintained by the government as well as the National Parliament of Papua New Guinea. The Constitution of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, enacted in 1975, safeguards fundamental human rights in the country such as freedom of association, media, religion, and speech. The nation is also an independent Commonwealth realm, meaning that their Governor General (who observes parliamentary procedure) is the representative of the Queen in Papua New Guinea.

What Does the Election Process Look Like?

Elections in Papua New Guinea take place every five years, with the most recent taking place in June of 2017. Representatives for the national legislature are elected to the 111 seats in parliament for a five-year term. The multi-party system in the country is diverse and usually ensures that no one party can gain power alone. This phenomenon leads to the formation of governments that must work together to achieve political goals.

Where Is the House of Paliament Found?

The National Parliament of the country is located on Independence Drive in Port Moresby, the capital city. Close to Jacksons International Airport and the Royal Port Moresby Golf Course, the parliament is home to 111 representatives, elected every five years.

What Are the Political Parties of the Country?

In Papua New Guinea, there are a number of active parties who must form coalition governments in order to be successful. There are over 20 active parties in the country.

This page was last modified on March 14th, 2018