Panama is a democratic republic with a presidential representative system of government where the president of the country is the head of state and leader of the government. The county’s constitution was adopted in 1972. There have been several amendments to the constitution with the last one being in 2004. The president exercises powers.

The voting age was established in 1907. Anyone at the age of 18 years and with full possession of civil and political rights is eligible to vote in the general elections. The president and vice can only perform for one five-year term. The president is voted in democratic process through the direct popular vote on a single poll and should be at least 35 years of age. Presidential elections and those of members of the National Assembly are done concurrently. The republic runs on a multi-party system. Historically, there have been three dominant political parties. These parties are Democratic Revolutionary Party, the Democratic Change, and Panameñista.

The name of the parliament of Panama is the National Assembly with Yanibel Abrego from the Democratic Change Party as its current leader. The National Assembly was previously called the Legislative Assembly. The country has a unicameral parliamentary system. The parliamentary building is located in Panama City on the Justo Arosemena Palace. Panama’s National Assembly comprises of 71 members. These officials are elected for five year terms after which they can be re-elected. Candidates running for political seats of the National Assembly should be 21 years and above, a citizen of Panama, and a resident of the area where they are vying for a minimum of one year before the elections. The functions of the National Assembly include approving budgets, initiating legislation and rules on international treaties, and establishing political divisions. Parliamentary sessions are held twice yearly for four months each although the president may call for special sessions

The country runs on a multi-party system and dominant political parties are Panameñista, the Democratic Revolutionary Party, and Democratic Change.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps