The political system of New Zealand can be described as a representative parliamentary democracy. New Zealand is also considered a constitutional monarchy in which the Queen or King of England as the official the head of state. The legislative branch of government in New Zealand is based on precedents set by the United Kingdom's Westminster.

Elections in New Zealand take place every three years. Parliamentary representatives are elected through a regional electorate system, and the Prime Minister is elected by the national party vote and will also be the leader of the party with the most votes. The first modern elections of New Zealand took place in 1853, and New Zealand was also the first country to grant women the right to vote in 1893.

The parliament of New Zealand is located in the capital of Wellington in the North Island of the country. There are 120 seats in the parliament of New Zealand made up of 71 electorate seats, decided by regional representation, and 49 list seats. The list seats are determined by the proportion of party votes that any one party receives. Ministerial positions within the government are always filled by members of this parliament. Although the Queen is considered to be the head of state, she is rarely ever present and is represented by a Governor-General.

New Zealand has a multiparty system. However, the two post prominent parties are the Labour and the National.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps