Martinique is a Caribbean Island which forms part of the Lesser Antilles and is among the regions overseas France. Therefore, it falls under a similar governmental structure as France. The official name of the government of France is the Republic of France. On January 24, 2010 a referendum in Martinique approved the creation of a new territorial collectivity that was to be governed by section 73 of the constitution of France. The new territorial collectivity of Martinique replaced the power and duties of the departments regional council and general Council

In Martinique, elections take place at a regional level. Anyone at the age of 18 years and above is eligible to vote. Candidates vying for any seat should be 23 years and above and be in full possession of their political and civil rights. The electoral law is governed by the constitution while the electoral authority is under the Ministry of interior affairs of France. The dominant regional political parties in Martinique are the Martinican Independence Movement, Martinican Communist Party, Martinican Progressive Party, and Build the Martinique Country.

The headquarters of the Executive Council of Martinique is in the hotel district of Defferre Cluny, in the capital of Fort-de-France with Alfred Marie-Jeanne as the president. Yan Monplaisir is the vice president. The council has 45 elected members who serve for six years. It handles matters to do with education, roads, transportation, housing, and general infrastructure Since March 31, 2011, Josette Manin was the first woman to hold the office of leader of the General Council until 2015. The council consists of 41 members elected to serve for four years. The General Council deals with social, economic, cultural, sanitary, and scientific development issues. However, there is only one legislative house at the moment which has 51 members. The island has four administrative divisions also known as arrondissements, which are further divided into constituencies each of which is overseen by a voted municipal council.

Political parties in Martinique must form coalition governments. Regional parties include the Martinican Independence Movement, Build the Martinique Country, Martinican progressive Party, and the Martinican Communist Party.

This page was last modified on May 1st, 2018

More on Graphicmaps