Where is Madagascar?

Located in Southern Africa, Madagascar is an island nation. It has a 4,828.00 km coastline. Madagascar claims territory of Bassas de India, Europa Island, Glorioso Islands, and Juan de Nova Island, which are all administered by France.

Madagascar is an African country covering 587,041.00 km2 of which 0.94% is water and 581,540.00 km2 is land. This makes it the 46th largest country in the world and almost four times the size of Georgia slightly less than twice the size of Arizona. Its geographic coordinates are 20 00 S, 47 00 E and Antananarivo is the capital city.

The name "Madageiscar" was first used by the 13th-century Venetian explorer Marco Polo.

Its ISO code is MG.


Madagascar has a mean elevation of 615 m above sea level.

It has a tropical climate along the coast, a temperate climate inland, and an arid climate in the south. Its terrain consists of narrow coastal plain, high plateaus, rounded hills, and some mountains.


Madagascar has a population of 24,430,325 making it the 52nd largest in the world.

French and Malagasy are both official languages. The major ethnic groups reported are Malayo-Indonesian, Cotiers, and Arab. The population practices Christianity, Islam, and indigenous religions.

The dialing code for the country is 261.


Madagascar is an independent country. It gained independence from France in 1960. Its constitution was last ratified in 2010.


Factoring in Purchasing Power Parity, Madagascar's GDP is $37,480,000,000.00 (USD) with $1,500.00 (USD) per capita. This makes it the 118th largest economy and its citizens the 208th richest in the world. The currency of Madagascar is the Ariary (MGA).

Its major export partners are France, the United States, and China. Its main exports are coffee, vanilla, shellfish, sugar, and cotton cloth. Its major import partners are China, France, and Bahrain. Its major imports include capital goods, petroleum, consumer goods, and food.

This page was last modified on December 15th, 2017